Dual citizenship agreement between France and Spain

On 24 November 2020, France and Spain signed a dual citizenship agreement. While retaining nationality of origin upon naturalisation is possible in France, Spain requires its prospective citizens to renounce their nationality of origin. Exceptions exist for countries with which Spain has signed a dual citizenship agreement, and naturalisation modes for citizens of specific countries.  

The legal grounds for the agreement is article 11.3 of the Spanish Constitution, which allows the country’s government to sign international agreements with Ibero-American countries, or states that have a special relationship with Spain. Until the signature of the agreement with France, Spain had bilateral agreements only with the Ibero-American countries, including Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua Paraguay, and Peru.

Upon the entry into force of the agreement, French citizens naturalising in Spain will no longer be required to renounce their nationality. Other conditions for naturalisation remain unchanged, including the residence criterion of 10 years.

In 2019, 89 French citizens naturalised in Spain.

For further information on the citizenship law of Spain, check out our country profile pages.